Tamale Pie

Not to sound too much like Garfield here, but I don’t like Mondays. I seem to always work late-ish, the Metro is always backed up (you dont SAY!), the gym is crowded and I am just generally bummed to have four more days until the weekend.  No matter how much I like to cook, on Monday nights it is a struggle to not just order pizza or eat cereal.   Unless I have something in the crockpot.

Oh how I love my crockpot…when I remember it exists. This recipe is based off something I saw over and over again on Pinterest.  I hope you are familiar with Pinterest, the biggest time-suck since peoples profiles on Facebook were public. Follow me! So, on Pinterest, I have seen many different versions of Tamale Pie.  Real tamales are delicious, but not exactly weeknight food, so I was intrigued.  I modified basic idea (cornbread crust, topped with a filling) into a BistroBess original by incorporated the crockpot, which makes this a 20 minute meal.  Perfect for a Monday night, and leftovers for the rest of the week!

Keeping Thanksgiving in mind, this would be a fantastic leftover turkey recipe!  Just saute all the filling/topping ingredients together with the leftover turkey instead of using the crockpot, and then make as directed.  Fabulous!

Tamale Pie

  • 4-5 chicken breasts
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeds removed, chopped
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped (I used yellow)
  • 2 16 oz jars salsa
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • 1 package Jiffy corn muffin mix
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup skim milk
  • 1 4oz can diced green chiles
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar or Mexican blend cheese
  • Chopped cilantro (optional)

Put the chicken, onion, jalapeno, bell pepper, salsa and corn in the crockpot and cook at high for 4-6 hours, or low for 8-10.  I did 10 hours, so it would be ready about the time I get home from work…do whatever works for your schedule.  When it is cooked, take off the lid, and shred the chicken with two forks.  Check for seasoning, add salt and pepper if needed.  Leave in crockpot on warm.

Heat the oven to 400.  Mix the Jiffy mix with the egg, milk, chiles and 1/3 cup of cheese.   Pour into a Pam-ed casserole dish (I used an 11×7, 2.2 quart Pyrex) and bake for about 15 minutes, until set.

Liberally pierce the surface of the cornbread with a fork, and then top with the chicken mixture.  Sprinkle the top with chopped cilantro and the remainder of the cheese.  Bake until the cheese is melted and heated all the way through, about 10-15 minutes.  Serve warm!

3 thoughts on “Tamale Pie

  1. This looks fabulous! Perfect for cool days. I can’t wait to make this after we move into our new home. (Your MIL is our Realtor and told me about your awesome blog. What a great lady!) Can’t wait for your next post. Cheers!

  2. I was just sending this link to a friend who asked for the recipe. I wanted to tell you that this is a regular in our rotation these days. It’s a great fast food deterrent for me too! “hmmm pick up whataburger? No! Tamale pie is in the fridge! Yessss!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

