Pork and Green Chile Stew

Hello to everyone who found BistroBess in the past few days!  Being “Freshly Pressed” certainly upped my readership and the pressure is on!  Please keep checking in, I really appreciate it the support.  But enough with that, on to the food!

I seem drawn to big bowls of comfort food these days, and this stew is no different.  After a very successful trip to Wegman’s last weekend (crowded but fabulous…why isn’t there a Wegmans in Arlington?), I found myself with 4 pork tenderloins, 2 per package.  I roasted off two of them earlier this week, and was trying to think of a creative use for the remaining tenderloins. 

Inspired by something on the Food Network about green chiles, I decided to try my hand at a green chile and pork stew.  I love the New Mexico/Tex Mex flavor of green chiles, and I knew something like this would be perfect for an afternoon of football watching with some friends.  I browsed a few recipes online, but didn’t find exactly what I was looking for, so I improvised. 

Lucky for me (and my friends), it turned out really well!  The stew was thick and hearty, good for my husband who doesn’t love thin soups.  It was spicy, but not overly so, with a great chile flavor, and the pork was wonderfully tender.  It may take a bit of time to simmer, but comes together quickly.  We served it with a dollop of sour cream and some tortillas, but I think it would be great over rice, or even as an enchilada filling. 

Pork and Green Chile Stew

a BistroBess original

  • 2 small pork tenderloins (from one standard grocery store package), cut into bite size pieces
  • 2 small onions, diced
  • 2 poblano peppers, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 can green enchilada sauce
  • 2 4 oz cans diced, roasted green chiles
  • 1 15oz can hominy, drained
  • 2-4 cups chicken broth (this will depend on how thick you want the soup)
  • Olive oil
  • Flour for dredging
  • Salt and pepper

Coat the bottom of a dutch oven with olive oil over medium heat.  Place about 1 cup of flour into a bowl.  Salt and pepper the pieces of pork, then dredge in the flour a few at a time.  Remove the pork from the flour, shaking off the excess, and place into the dutch oven.  Brown on all sides, about 4 minutes per batch, until all pork has browned.   Remove from the dutch oven and set aside.

Add a little bit of olive oil to the dutch oven, if needed.  Add onion and poblano and cook for several minutes, until soft and translucent.  Add garlic, cook for 2 more minutes.  Pour in can of enchilada sauce and, using a wooden spoon, get all the brown bits by scraping the bottom of the pan.  Add the cans of chiles, hominy and the browned pork.  Stir to combine, and add some chicken stock, about 2 cups, to just cover the mixture.  

Cover, turn heat to low, and allow to simmer, stirring occasionally, for an hour or more.  I cooked mine for closer to two hours, and stirred every 20 minutes or so.  Add more chicken broth along the way to get the consistency you would like.* Taste for seasoning, and add salt and pepper.   Serve warm with tortillas, cheese, sour cream, cilantro, etc. 

*If you would like to use this for a taco or enchilada filling, I would suggest starting with 1 cup of broth and going from there.

4 thoughts on “Pork and Green Chile Stew

  1. My husband saw Rick Bayless do something like this on one of Bayless’s shows. He made it and it is, indeed, delicious. Perfect for cooler weather, too. Wayne roasts his own poblanos for the chilies(also learned on a Rick Bayless show!)but either way -this is a terrific dish.

  2. I’ve always like stews, probably my favorite type of food, so warm and cozy. I will definitely try this out.

    Give my blog a look, it’ll help a lot if I can get some advice. I’m new to word press. :

  3. Pingback: 100 Great Soup, Stew & Chili Recipes

Leave a Reply

