Cousin Karoline’s Cake Cookies

My cousin Karoline is a wonderful baker, and she invented this cookie recipe years ago.*  It has been passed around our family, and comes in handy often. It is dead simple, easy to adapt, and completely delicious. You probably have all the ingredients already!  If you love soft, chewy cookies, give this recipe a try.  Thanks, Lina!

*Had no idea, but apparently Paula Deen originated this recipe with chocolate cake mix! Credit where credit is due!

Cousin Karoline’s Cake Cookies

  • 1 box of cake mix, any flavor (I used red velvet, funfetti is the original)
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 8oz package cream cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • Powdered sugar

Using an electric mixer, combine cake mix, butter, cream cheese, egg and vanilla until well blended.   Chill mixture in the freezer for about 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350.  Roll a tablespoon of batter into a ball, and then coat with powdered sugar.  Place on a cookie sheet and flatten a bit.  Bake for 12-15 minutes, until the surface is cracked and the batter looks set.  Remove to cooling rack and dust with more powdered sugar, if desired.


9 thoughts on “Cousin Karoline’s Cake Cookies

  1. This is the same recipe as Paula Deen’s Chocolate Butter Cookies. They are wonderful as any flavor though. I made a wonderful spice cookie with french vanilla cake mix, cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice.

    • I have personally never frozn them, but I am sure you could! You could probably freeze them after you roll them into ball, and before baking. Let me know if you try and I will add it to the blog!

  2. These are wonderful. I made them a little larger. They are even better the next day (what was left). I was wondering how I could make them a little sturdier to use in ice cream sandwiches? Thanks.

    • Hi, Cheryl. Sorry I didnt reply sooner…I am still getting used to the twitter thing! I ahve never made them sturdier, so I am not sure. My suggestion would be to cook them longer, until they get a little darker. Just watch the bottoms so they dont burn!

  3. Bessers- I want to try all your recipes, but find it difficult since it’s no fun cooking for one :-/ I did, however, give this one a whirl because my co-workers love baked goods. I made two batches using funfetti and milk chocolate cake mixes. They got rave reviews from both my family and my peeps at work! Thanks for the recipe…so simple and delish 🙂

Leave a Reply

