Spicy Chickpeas

Look at the well balanced meal on the plate you bought me, Mom!

Look at the well balanced meal on the plate you bought me, Mom!

I was wandering around World Market, as one does, looking for something, anything, to impulse buy.  I was thinking about what to make for dinner and had chickpeas on the brain (which makes no sense, I realize) and then it hit me.  On the cover of a small, paperback cookbook was the chickpea dish of my dreams.   I had found what I came in for…a cookbook called 5 Spices, 50 Dishes. 

I cannot vouch for the entirely of this book, since I have still only made the one recipe.  But, I have made it like 4 times and am totally in love.  It’s warm, filling, spicy, healthy and easy.  Seriously, seriously easy.  Would be a great side, or even a vegetarian main dish. 

*Major disclaimer – The dish is called Chickpeas with Dill.  I had no dill.  I had basil, so I used it and it was good.  That was really my only modification…unfortunately, it changes the title of the recipe!

Look at the deliciousness in the Le Creuset you bought me, Mom!

Look at the deliciousness in the Le Creuset you bought me, Mom!

Chickpea Curry with Fresh Dill (or Basil!)

  • 2 TB oil (olive or canola)
  • 1 medium yellow onion, fine diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 2-inch piece of ginger, peeled and minced
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp ground coriander seed
  • 1 tsp cayenne (ok, I used closer to a 1/2 tsp…it’s HOT)
  • 1 medium tomato, diced (about 1 c.)
  • 2 bunches finely chopped dill, or a large handful chopped basil
  • 1 15.5 ounce can chickpeas, rinsed
  • 1/4 c. water
  • 1 tsp salt

Heat olive oil in a heavy pot over medium high heat.  Add onion, and cook until translucent, about 5 minutes.  Add garlic, ginger, turmeric coriander and cayenne and cook another 3-4 minutes until well combined and fragrant.  Add tomato and cook until soft, about 5 minutes.  Stir in chickpeas, water, salt and herbs, lower heat and simmer for 5-10 minutes.  *Note – if you like a slightly mushier chickpea, add another 14/ to 1/2 c of water and cook a bit longer.*

Serve as a side with grilled fish or chicken, as a full meal over couscous with some Greek yogurt, or just eat it out of the pot with a fork and be happy.

Upclose loveliness...of both the chickpeas and my plates!  Again, thanks, Mom!

Upclose loveliness...of both the chickpeas and my plates! Again, thanks, Mom!

Leave a Reply

