Cookies!

DSC02429

I do not do a lot baking.  I love the results, but often find the process a bit tedious, with all its measuring utensils and subsequent dishes to wash.  Now that I have a beautiful blue KitchenAid, it’s much more tolerable, but I still prefer just throwing things in a pot.   But sometimes, you just want COOKIES. 

I made these cookies while maintaining a South Beach-esque diet leading up to my sisters wedding, so there are lots of substitutions.  I had all the low cal stuff on hand (Splenda, etc), so I decided to see if this recipe would work in a low(er) calorie way.  The results? 

YUM!  A bit a of a sweet aftertaste that comes along with using sweeteners, but generally speaking, I think they were delish.  Satisfying as a baked good, and I didn’t feel terrible about having one…or two.  And the whole wheat flour and oats upped the fiber quotient to make these things practically health food!

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1 cup I Can’t Believe Its Not Butter for Baking, softened
  • 1 cup packed light Splenda brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup Regular Splenda
  • 2 eggs ( I did use real eggs, Egg Beaters could be used)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups quick-cooking oats
  • 1 cup semi sweet chips (I used real chips…there just are not substitutions for some things!)
  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter, brown sugar, and white sugar until smooth. Beat in eggs one at a time, then stir in vanilla. Combine the flour, baking soda, and salt; stir into the creamed mixture until just blended. Mix in the quick oats and chocolate chips. Drop by heaping spoonfuls onto ungreased baking sheets.
  3. Bake for 12 minutes in the preheated oven. Allow cookies to cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

 

Health food you can believe in

Health food you can believe in

 

2 thoughts on “Cookies!

Leave a Reply

