My First Post – Chicken and Shrimp Fajitas

The final product, ready to assemble and enjoy!

The final product, ready to assemble and enjoy!

While I have been cooking and experimenting in the kitchen for some time now, I only recently discovered the extensive world of food blogging.  Overwhelming at first, I have come to rely on the advice and ideas I get from these blogs on a regular basis.  So, I thought, why not throw my hat in the ring?  My approach to food and cooking is hardly revolutionary, but I have learned a couple worthwhile tricks over the past few years  for making delicious food in a simple way, without breaking my budget or diet (well, most of the time).

My absolute favorite food ever is Tex Mex, so chicken and shrimp fajitas seemed like a natural first post.  I make different versions of this all the time. The ingredients are simple, and things I generally have on hand.  You can add whatever toppings you want, or omit the tortillas and make a salad, and they are always yummy!  So, as I enter the world of food blogging, I give you my recipe for Grilled Chicken and Shrimp Fajitas!

Grilled Chicken and Shrimp Fajitas – Serves 3-4

1 package chicken tenderloins

1/2lb  raw shrimp, peeled or unpeeled

1 medium red onion

1 large bell pepper, I like orange or red

1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and diced

1 lime, juiced

1 TB honey or brown sugar

1 tsp garlic

2 tsp cumin

1 tsp chili powder

Vegetable Oil

Salt and Pepper

Combine the jalapeno,lime juice, garlic, 1tsp cumin, brown sugar/honey, salt & pepper, and 2-3 TB of veggie oil with the chicken. Allow to marinate in the fridge for about 45 minutes.  Add the shrimp and marinate for 15 more minutes (if you put the shrimp in too early, the lime juice will start cooking it!). 

*Since most of my recipes are done by sight, if it looks like you need a little more lime or oil to coat,go ahead.  Add another jalapeno if you like it spicy!*

While the chicken and shrimp are marinating, cut up the pepper and onion, and coat with remaining cumin, chili powder,s&p and a bit of oil.  Set aside for now.

Heat up an indoor or outdoor grill and grill the proteins, chicken first, for about 6-8 minutes total.  Toss the shrimp on the grill and cook until done,  3-4 minutes.   Remove to a plate, and grill the veggies for a few minutes, until desired softness.  Then you are ready to assemble!  I like to use flour tortillas, a dollop of sour cream,  salsa, a bit of shredded cheese.   Delicious!!!

One thought on “My First Post – Chicken and Shrimp Fajitas

Leave a Reply

